Nowruz was registered as UNESCO’s heritage

Participation in FITUR 2017
December 10, 2015
FITUR 2020
January 12, 2020
Show all

Nowruz was registered as UNESCO’s heritage

Persian new year, Nowruz, has been registered as UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage
TEHRAN (Dispatches) – Nowruz means New Day and is the Persian New Year, which is celebrated in many other countries, has been inscribed on UNESCO’s Intangible Cultural Heritage List.
UNESCO has registered the Nowruz celebrations as shared practices of 12 countries. Azerbaijan, India, Iran, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Turkey and Uzbekistan were listed by the UN agency in 2009 as countries where Nowruz is celebrated.
A new proposal was prepared last year (2015) to include 5 more countries namely Afghanistan, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.
The 2-week Nowruz festivities kick off on the 20st or 21st day of March each year; it could change depending on Spring Equinox. They include various customs such as special meals, family visits, public rituals and street performances.

In the third day of the 11th session of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage that has been underway in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the multinational case of Nowruz was finally inscribed in the List of Intangible Cultural Heritage of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Following the inscription, Mohammad Hassan Talebian, Iran’s deputy head of Cultural Heritage, began his address by reciting a poem by the great fourteenth century Iranian poet Hafiz, adding “Nowruz is the manifestation of wisdom, moderation, and hope for life.”
Iranian Ambassador to UNESCO Ahmad Jalali who headed the Iranian delegation at the global conference on the Intangible Cultural Heritage, delivered a lecture on the significance of Nowruz and its message.

Fore more information please see:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *